Skip to contentSkip to main navigationSkip to local navigation
students

EOPS / CARE

Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOPS) is designed to improve access, retention and completion of educational goals for students who are low income and educationally disadvantaged. EOPS students have the potential to succeed in college but have not been able to realize their potential because of economic and/or educational barriers.

The CARE program provides additional services and support to students by way of special programs specially tailored to the needs of CARE students.

 

Office Hours & Location

Mon - Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
Fri: 8:00am - 12:00pm

Building 2, Second Floor
Email: skyeops@smccd.edu
Phone: 650-738-4139

EOPS Services

  • Academic, Career, and Personal Counseling
  • Priority Registration
  • Book Grant/Voucher Service (for required textbooks- amount varies)
  • Transfer Planning
  • UC, CSU, and private colleges application fee waiver
  • School Supplies
  • Calculator and Smartpen Loans

CARE Services

  • Academic, career, and personal counseling
  • Priority registration
  • Education / self-development workshops
  • School supplies and reference materials
  • Transportation assistance
  • Meal voucher program
  • Vocational grants

Events & Workshops

Lunch & Learn Workshop Series

Location for all workshops: Building 2, Third Floor, Room 2351

Time for all workshops: 2:00 – 3:00pm

Demystifying Academic Probation

  • Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Financial Literacy

  • Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Test Anxiety

  • Wednesday, October 4, 2017

UC Personal Statement

  • Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Test Taking Strategies

  • Wednesday, November 15, 2017

UC/CSU Application Workshops:

Location for all workshops: Building 2, First Floor, Room 2117B (computer lab)

CSU Application Workshops

  • Monday October 2, 11:30am – 2:30pm
  • Thursday October 19, 12:00pm – 3:00pm
  • Tuesday October 31, 10:00am – 1:00pm

UC/CSU Application Workshops

  • Wednesday November 8, 2:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Monday November 27, 11:30am – 2:30pm 

Fall 2017 Kick Off Event

  • Friday September 1
  • 12 – 1:30PM, Building 6, Room 6202

San Jose State and Stanford University Campus Tours

  • Friday September 22
  • Time: 8am – 5pm
  • Note: Time and campus are subject to change

UC Berkeley and CSU East Bay Campus Tours

  • Friday October 27
  • Time: 8am – 5pm
  • Note: Time and campus are subject to change

End of Semester Celebration

  • Friday December 1
  • Time: TBD