Skip to contentSkip to top navigationSkip to switch websitesSkip to local navigation

Student Success Program

What is the Student Success Program?

The Student Success Program at Skyline College provides resources and support to assist students who are either experiencing academic difficulties or who want to improve their academic performance in college. We have dedicated counselors who provide intensive counseling support to help students develop strategies to handle the stresses of academic and personal life. We help students stay on course and successfully receive their degrees and/or transfer.

This program consists of two major steps:

In a 3-hour motivational workshop, you will learn to:

  • Improve your academic record such as GPA and completion rate
  • Learn strategies to improve your academic standing
  • Understand the “Do’s & Don’ts” regarding dropping classes
  • Understand college policies
  • Learn about various college success skills such as time management and stress management
  • Learn about the different counseling and career courses that promote success
  • Learn about the campus resources that students can utilize such as the Career Center and SparkPoint at Skyline College Center

After the workshop, you will need to make a counseling appointment with a counselor to develop strategies to getting back to good standing and becoming a successful student. The counselor may also recommend that you submit a mid-semester progress report from your instructors so that you can better monitor your own progress and determine appropriate interventions.

How do I sign up?

You can register for a Student Success Workshop by calling the Counseling Center at 650-738-4318. You can also sign up at the Counseling Center in person in Building 2. Space may be limited.

Student Success Workshop Dates:

Date Day of Week Time Facilitator
January 7, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm Alberto
January 11, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Brianna
January 14, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm Brianna
February 4, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm Brianna
February 22, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Kwame
March 29, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Kwame
April 15, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm Alberto
April 19, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Brianna
May 3, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Kwame
May 10, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Kwame
May 20, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm Alberto
May 24, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm Kwame
June 17, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm  
June 21, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm  
July 12, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm  
July 15, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm  
July 19, 2017 Wednesday 6 - 9pm  
August 5, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm  
August 12, 2017 Saturday 10am-1pm  

All workshops are located in Building 6, Room 6203 unless indicated otherwise. 

Additional Resources