

January 16th 2024

Thursdays, 2:10pm-4:00pm Join us in person: 4-301

Join us on zoom: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/88396610980

Academic Senate: "the organization whose primary function, as the representative of the faculty, is to make recommendations to the administration of the college and to the Board of Trustees with respect to **academic and professional matters**" (CA CCR Title 5).

Voting Members

Executive Officers

• President: Cassidy Ryan [votes in ties]

• Vice President: Jessica Truglio

• Secretary: Melissa Komidina

• Treasurer: Sima Karve

• Past President: Lindsey Ayotte [non-

voting]

Senators

ASLT:

Vincent Kang

BEPP

- Lynsey Hemstreet
- Tammy Calderon

Counseling

- Suzanne Poma
- Kenny Gonzalez
- Rocio Aguilar-Pedroza

GLPS

TBD

Language Arts

- Jarrod Feiner
- Janice Sapigao
- TBD

KAD

Amber Steele

SPWD

TBD

SSCA

- Lori Slicton
- Kathy Zarur
- Jennifer Merrill

STEM

- Miranda Wang
- Michael Song
- Franco Deal

SESP

Lucy Jovel

CTE Senator

Tony Viertel

Part-Time Faculty

- Daisy Guiterrez
- Kishaun Young
- TBD

Voting members: 22 Simple majority: 12

2/3: 13

Non-voting Members

Governance Committee Chairs

- Curriculum Chair: Rick Hough
- Professional Personnel: Soledad McCarthy

Advisory Members

AFT

Michael Song

ASSC

Irah Vanelle Tancioco

PD/CTTL

- Sima Karve
- Lucia Lachmayr

OER Liasson

Vincent Kang

1.0 Opening Procedures and Welcome

1.1 Senate Networking

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 10 minutes

Notes:

1.2 Call to Order/Establish Quorum

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 1 minute

Notes:

1.3 Adoption of Agenda

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 1 minute

Notes:

1.4 Adoption of Minutes

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 1 minute

Notes: Approval of minutes from October 17th meeting

1.5 Adoption of Consent Agenda

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 5 minutes

Notes:

SSCA-

FT Faculty- History (2 positions)

Mustafa Popal, HIST Katie Manbachi, HIST Kathy Zarur, ART Christopher Collins, DE Coord./HIST

FT Faculty- Philosophy

Jeramy Ball, PHIL Disciple Expert from CSM Rachel Cunningham, GEOG Jesse Raskin, LEGL/PSLC

COUN-

FT Faculty- Counseling (Student Athlete)

Alberto Santellan Gina Ciardella-Palmer Kwame Thomas Chris Watters

Promise Scholars Program Counselor (Grant-Funded, Non-Tenure Track)

Kim Davalos (Counseling Faculty, PSP) Dionicio Garcia (Counseling Faculty, PSP) Jennifer Merrill (Psychology Faculty).

STEM

FT Faculty- Chemistry

AJ Bates (Chemistry) Susanne Schubert (Chemistry) Emilie Hein (Physics)

FT Faculty- Biology

Yancy Aquino (Biology - Human Track) Simantini Karve (Biology - Human Track) Nick Kapp (Biotechnology)

1.6 Public Comment

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 10 minutes

Notes: Anyone from the public may make a comment on any non-agenda item. Speaking time

is limited to 2 minutes per person.

2.0 New Senate Business.

2.1 This is how we do it

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenters: TBD Time: 5 Minutes

Notes:

2.2 Senate Dues- Update

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenters: Sima Karve

Time: 5 Minutes

Notes: Update about senate dues- Dues were not taking out of fall paychecks. More information

to follow

2.3 Adjuncts Responsible for Comprehensive Program Review

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenters: Michael Cross

Time: 20 Minutes

Notes: Educational program development, standards or policies regarding student preparation and success, faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and

annual reports processes for program review

2.4 Resolution in support of students who are undocumented and/or impacted by new Federal government policies

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenters: Suzanne Poma

Time: 15 Minutes

Notes: Request for Academic Senate to put together a resolution in support of students who are undocumented and/or impacted by new Federal government policies

3.0 Standing Agenda Items

3.1 Committee Reports

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenter: Curriculum, IEC tri-chair, FTEFAC, SPARC, Professional Personnel, CTE

Time: 10 minutes

Notes:

3.2 Campus Reports

Procedure | Information | Discussion | Action

Presenter: ASSC Student Rep, CTTL, AFT Reps, VPI

Time: 10 minutes

Notes:

4.0 Announcement and Closing Procedures

4.1. Final Announcements

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 5 minutes

Notes:

4.2. Motion to Adjourn

Presenter: President Ryan

Time: 1 minute

Notes: The next meeting of the Spring 2025 semester is on February 6th. If you would like to request an item be put on the agenda (Consent, discussion, action or information) please submit your request for the next meeting by Tuesday January 28th by 12:00pm. You can request an agenda item_here

Academic and Professional Matters, AB 1725 "10 + 1"

1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines

- 2. Degree and certificate requirements
- 3. Grading policies
- **4.** Educational program development
- 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
- 6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- **7.** Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- **9.** Processes for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- **11.** Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate